Project

Critical Peer Review (CPR) – strengthening the practitioner

Contact persons

When we conduct critical reviews, our main objective is to guarantee a minimum but sufficient quality standard, from a scientific and technical point of view, as well as the consistency with the international ISO 14040 standard. Our aim is more about supporting the implementation of the life cycle assessment (LCA) and improve its quality rather than to discover every calculation error nor to perform an administrative ISO-check. The following three points are important for us:

Strengthen the people conducting the LCA: In a comparative LCA the probably most important question a reviewer always needs to put is: would the result of the LCA be the same if the customer was the manufacturer of the other compared product? The answer to this question is crucial for the study and the practitioner to be objective and credible. Especially in cases where the results are against the expectations of the client, the reviewer will be able to support those who conducted the study with an objective position.

Sparring partner for LCA practitioners: it is the duty of a reviewer to discuss the following aspects: Evaluation of the orders of magnitude of the results, recognize and discuss the relevant decisions, recognize and discuss the relevant scenarios and options, carry out an uncertainty analysis.

Finding significances: though the term “significance” is mentioned several times in the ISO norm, it is often not sufficiently addressed in an impact assessment or the interpretation of results. This can be explained, among other things, because methods that can weight the different environmental impacts into a single score result, allowing establishing a statement on its significance, cannot be applied under the ISO norm for comparative LCAs expected to be published. Nonetheless, as a reviewer, we recommend analysing one or two single score method results in order to check the order of magnitude and the relevance, even if these results cannot be mentioned in the LCA report.

We have applied these principles to the more than 50 reviews we performed. We use a pragmatic process where we focus on the most relevant aspects and take our part of responsibility. This allows us to perform efficient reviews at a reasonable price, for short LCA evaluations as well as complex LCA studies with ISO standards.

Year

2013

back

Projekt

Wie wir unsere Rolle als kritische Reviewer wahrnehmen

Ansprechpersonen

Als kritische Reviewer verfolgen wir das Ziel, bei einer Studie eine minimale aber ausreichende Qualität in wissenschaftlicher und technischer Hinsicht sowie die Konsistenz mit dem internationalen ISO Standard 14040 zu garantieren. Dabei geht es uns weniger darum, sämtliche Rechenfehler zu entdecken oder einen administrativen ISO-Check durchzuführen. Uns geht es viel mehr darum, die Ökobilanzierer zu unterstützen und so die Qualität der Studie zu erhöhen. Dabei sind uns folgende drei Punkte wichtig:

Stärkung der Ökobilanzierer: Bei vergleichenden Ökobilanzen ist die wohl wichtigste Frage, die sich ein Reviewer immer stellen sollte: Würde die Schlussfolgerung der Studie dieselbe sein, wenn der Auftraggeber der Hersteller des anderen Produktes wäre? Die Antwort auf diese Frage ist zentral für die Objektivität und Glaubwürdigkeit der Studie und der Ökobilanzierer. Insbesondere wenn das Resultat entgegen der Erwartungen des Auftraggebers ist, liegt es am Reviewer, den Ökobilanzierern mit einer objektiven Haltung den Rücken zu stärken.

Sparringpartner für die Ökobilanzierer: Es ist die Pflicht eines Reviewers, als Diskussionspartner folgende Punkte anzusprechen: Beurteilung der Grössenordnungen der Resultate, Erkennen und Besprechen der relevanten Entscheidungen, Erkennen und Besprechen der relevanten Szenarien und Varianten, Durchführen einer Unsicherheitsanalyse.

Signifikanzen entdecken: Obwohl das Wort Signifikanz mehrere Male in der ISO Norm erwähnt wird, wird dieser Aspekt bei der Wirkbilanz und Interpretation oft vernachlässigt. Unter anderem deshalb, weil gesamtaggregierende Methoden, welche Umweltwirkungen gewichten und damit eine Aussage über deren Signifikanz machen können, für vergleichende Ökobilanzen, die veröffentlicht werden sollen, gemäss ISO Norm nicht verwendet werden dürfen . Als Reviewer empfehlen wir trotzdem, jeweils ein bis zwei gesamtaggregierenden Methoden für die Analyse zu verwenden, um die Grössenordnungen und Relevanzen zu prüfen, auch wenn diese dann nicht im Ökobilanzbericht erwähnt werden.

Bei all unseren über 50 bereits getätigten Reviews haben wir diese Grundsätze in einem pragmatischen Prozess angewendet, bei dem wir uns auf die relevanten Aspekte fokussieren und unseren Teil der Verantwortung übernehmen. Das ermöglicht uns die Durchführung von effizienten und kostengünstigen Reviews, sei dies für kleinere Ökobilanzabschätzungen oder für aufwändige Ökobilanzstudien nach ISO 14040.

Jahr

2013

zurück