Project

Decision support for the ecological siting of Swiss small hydropower plants

Contact persons

Small hydropower plants are controversial. On the one hand, hydropower plants are among the most ecological energy systems for supplying electricity in terms of conserving energy resources and pollutant emissions. On the other hand, hydropower plants are associated with encroachment on ecosystems. Especially in the context of nature conservation, the negative environmental impacts of CHP are often assessed to be higher than their benefits.

The research program Hydropower and Energy Switzerland (Swiss Federal Office of Energy) has commissioned Carbotech AG to develop a decision-making tool by the end of 2016, which provides a reliable estimate of the ecological significance of the construction and conversion of Swiss CHP with little effort. This instrument is not intended to represent a new assessment concept, but to bring together the knowledge and methods developed so far and, if necessary, to supplement it with qualitative expert statements. In addition, it should be applicable regardless of measurements and with little effort.

With Fuzzy Set Theory quantitative results for example from life cycle assessments are combined with qualitative statements and expert assessments in a transparent way. This also allows to consider different opinions and to include the blur. This mathematical method has already been used successfully in comparable projects of Carbotech. The modeling takes place in close cooperation with experts from research, environmental organizations and the public sector.

Client

Bundesamt für Energie

Year

2017, Start 2015

back

Projekt

Entscheidungshilfe für die ökologische Standortwahl von Schweizer Kleinwasserkraftwerken

Ansprechpersonen

Kleinwasserkraftwerke (KWKW) werden kontrovers diskutiert. Einerseits gehören Wasserkraftwerke bezüglich der Schonung von energetischen Ressourcen sowie Schadstoffemissionen zu den ökologischsten Energiesystemen der Strombereitstellung. Andererseits sind Wasserkraftwerke mit Eingriffen in Ökosystemen verbunden. Vor allem im Kontext des Naturschutzes werden die negativen ökologischen Auswirkungen von KWKW oft höher als deren Nutzen beurteilt.

Das Forschungsprogramm Wasserkraft und Energie Schweiz (Bundesamt für Energie) hat die Carbotech AG beauftragt bis Ende 2016 ein Entscheidungsinstrument zu entwickeln, das mit geringem Aufwand eine zuverlässige Einschätzung der ökologischen Sinnhaftigkeit beim Bau und Umbau von Schweizer KWKW gibt. Dieses Instrument soll kein neues Beurteilungskonzept darstellen, sondern das bis jetzt entwickelte Wissen und die entsprechenden Methoden zusammenbringen und wo nötig mit qualitativen Expertenaussagen ergänzen. Zudem soll es unabhängig von Messungen und mit geringem Aufwand anwendbar sein.

Um die quantitativen Resultate, z. B. von Ökobilanzen, mit qualitativen Aussagen und Einschätzungen von Experten auf transparente Art zu modellieren, wird die Methode der Fuzzy Set Theorie verwendet. Diese erlaubt es auch unterschiedliche Meinungen zu berücksichtigen und die Unschärfe miteinzubeziehen. Diese mathematische Methode wurde in vergleichbaren Projekten der Carbotech schon erfolgreich eingesetzt. Die Modellierung erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Fachleuten u.a. aus der Forschung, Umweltorganisationen und der öffentlichen Hand.

Kunde

Bundesamt für Energie

Jahr

2017, Start 2015

zurück