Project

Life cycle assessment of recycling systems in Switzerland

Contact persons

Identification of the environmental benefits of 11 recycling systems by means of life cycle assessment

For Swiss Recycling we have analyzed the environmental benefits of a total of 11 recycling systems in Switzerland for the reference years 2012 and 2017 (aluminum and tinplate cans, scrap metal, batteries, paper and cardboard, textiles, batteries, electrical and electronic equipment, PET and plastic bottles) by life cycle assessment.

The environmental benefits of recycling systems depend primarily on how to deal with allocations and credits for the reuse of resources. The challenge was to map the system expansion as meaningfully and correctly as possible. In doing so, we were able to bring in our know-how from various existing studies in the field of recycling and efficiently create an overall overview of the benefits of recycling systems in the household sector.

The study shows that material recycling pays off from an environmental point of view. It shows the total ecological benefit and serves Swiss Recycling as a positioning for the future path of Swiss recycling systems.

Client

Swiss Recycling

Year

2017, 2014

back

Projekt

Ökobilanz von Recyclingsystemen in der Schweiz

Ansprechpersonen

Ausweisung des Umweltnutzens von 11 Recyclingsystemen mittels Ökobilanzierung

Für Swiss Recycling haben wir für die Referenzjahre 2012 und 2017 den ökologischen Nutzen von insgesamt 11 Recyclingsystemen in der Schweiz (Alu- und Weissblechdosen, Altmetall, Batterien, Papier und Karton, Textilien, Batterien, Elektro- und Elektronikgeräte, PET- und Kunststoffflaschen) mittels Ökobilanzierung analysiert.

Der Umweltnutzen der Recyclingsysteme hängt dabei vor allem davon ob, wie mit Allokationen und Gutschriften für die Wiederverwendung der Ressourcen umgegangen wird. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, die Systemerweiterung möglichst sinnvoll und korrekt abzubilden. Dabei konnten wir unser Know-How aus diversen bereits erstellten Studien im Recyclingbereich einbringen und auf effiziente Weise eine Gesamtübersicht über den Nutzen von Recyclingsystemen im Bereich Haushalt erstellen.

Die Studie zeigt, dass sich das stoffliche Recycling aus ökologischer Sicht auszahlt. Sie weist den ökologischen Gesamtnutzen aus und dient Swissrecycling als Standortbestimmung für den zukünftigen Weg der Schweizer Recyclingsysteme.

Kunde

Swiss Recycling

Jahr

2017, 2014

zurück