Methodological recommendations for standardized LCA on EU beet sugar for PCR (Product Category Rules), EDP (Environmental Product Declaration) and PEF (Product Environmental Footprint) development

Contact person

In this project, in collaboration with EBP, we analysed the ecological impact of the average sugar beet cultivation and of the average beet sugar production in the EU as a basis for PCR (Product Category Rules) development of sugar. We focussed on the following three aspects:

inventory and data collection: the study answers the question of which data in which quality is needed to guarantee high quality results.

Relevant impact categories: the four common single- methods – ILCD v1.04, ReCiPe 2008, Ecological Scarcity 2013 and Impact 2002+  – were chosen for a detailed relevance analysis of the individual environmental impact categories. This allowed formulating a recommendation on which environmental impact categories should be mentioned in a PCR in order to display the largest part of environmental impact of beet sugar in the most meaningful way.

Allocation method: the modern beet sugar production can generate up to 11 by-products. This raises the question: which form of allocation is the best representation of the real environmental impact? Next to the substitution approach („credit“) and the economic allocation, various physical allocation were considered and evaluated (mass, dry mass, digestible energy, caloric content, sucrose content).

The conclusions of the study will be used for the continuation of PCR development as a basis for EPD (Environmental Product Declaration) and PEFs (Product Environmental Footprint).


Comité Européen des Fabricants de Sucre (CEFS)

Projekt

Methodische Empfehlungen für standardisierte Ökobilanzen von Rübenzucker

Ansprechperson

Thomas Kägi

+41 44 444 20 17

In diesem Projekt analysierten wir in Zusammenarbeit mit EBP die ökologischen Auswirkungen des durchschnittlichen Zuckerrübenanbaus sowie der durchschnittlichen Zuckerherstellung in der EU als Basis für die PCR (Product Category Rules) Entwicklung von Zucker. Der Fokus lag dabei auf folgenden drei Punkten:

Inventar und Datenerhebung: Die Studie beantwortet die Frage, welche Daten in welcher Qualität erhoben werden müssen, um eine hohe Qualität der Resultate zu garantieren.

Relevante Wirkkategorien: Es wurden die vier gängigen gesamtaggregierenden Bewertungsmethoden ILCD v1.04, ReCiPe 2008, Ecological Scarcity 2013 und Impact 2002+ für eine detaillierte Relevanzanalyse der einzelnen Umweltwirkungen verwendet. Daraus wurde eine Empfehlung abgeleitet, welche Umweltwirkungen in einer PCR erwähnt werden sollten, um den grössten Teil der Umweltwirkungen von Zucker sinnvoll abzubilden.

Allokationsmethode: Die moderne Zuckerherstellung generiert bis zu 11 Nebenprodukte. Dabei stellt sich die Frage, welche Form der Allokation die reale Umweltbelastung am besten abbildet. Neben dem Substitutionsansatz (Gutschrift) und der ökonomischen Allokation wurden auch diverse physikalische Allokationsformen betrachtet (Masse, Trockenmasse, verdauliche Energie, Brennwert, Sukrosegehalt) und bewertet.

Die Erkenntnisse fliessen in die weitere PCR Entwicklung ein als Grundlage für die Erstellung von EPDs (Environmental Product Declaration) und PEFs (Product Environmental Footprint).

Kunde

Comité Européen des Fabricants de Sucre (CEFS)

Jahr

2014

zurück