Service

Air Sampling for Asbestos

Contact persons

For the purpose of measuring the content of respirable as­best­os fibres in ambient air, for over 20 years we have been carrying out sampling in accordance with VDI Guideline 3492. In the VDI procedure, air is drawn through a PVD (physical vapour deposition) gold Nu­cleo­po­re Fil­ter over a period of eight hours. This filter is subsequently examined by a partner laboratory under a Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM). The fibre types are identified via energy dispersive x-ray analysis (ED­XA).

The VDI measurements are categorised as:

  • Current situation measurements, which serve to verify whether non-treated asbestos-containing materials are contaminating the air during normal operation.
  • Check measurements are made during or immediately following the removal of asbestos-containing ma­te­ria­ls outside the areas designated for cleaning, in order to determine whether any contamination has reached the surrounding areas.
  • Zo­ne release measurements determine the content of respirable as­bestos fibres in the ambient air after decontamination work. They are carried out within the decontamination areas to verify whether those areas can be dismantled.
  • Final measurements check the quality of the ambient air after the conclusion of all decontamination work, prior to the release of the areas for use.

Over 30 measurements can be conducted simultaneously.

In addition, we offer:

  • Continuous ambient air measurements with Fib­re Mo­ni­tor FM 7400

    Decontaminations are particularly important in areas where people spend a considerable amount of time. As­besto­s decontamination target areas are monitored with laser devices, which continually measure and identify respirable fibres. Car­bo­tech possesses two such laser devices (Fib­re Mo­ni­tor FM 7400).

  • Workplace measurements during asbestos decontamination

    Workplace measurements during work on asbestos-containing ma­te­ria­ls reveal the level of pollutants which the workers are exposed to. These measurements lead to ensuring adequate protective measures and improved decontamination techniques.

  • Ventilation/emis­si­ons measurements during asbestos decontamination

    These measurements in accordance with VDI Guideline 3861 check the exhaust cowls of the ventilation system, to verify that the contaminated air is being sufficiently filtered before it is allowed to enter the surrounding external air. This safety precaution protects against the possibility that, for example insufficiently maintained equipment or leakages, are allowing the environment to be contaminated,.

Dienstleistung

Luftmessungen auf Asbest

Ansprechpersonen

Um den Gehalt an lungengängigen Asbestfasern in der Raumluft zu messen, führen wir  seit über 20 Jahren VDI-Messungen (Richtlinie 3492) durch. Bei einer VDI-Messung wird während acht Stunden Raumluft über einen mit Gold bedampften Nucleopore Filter gesaugt. Dieser Filter wird anschliessend in einem externen Partnerlabor unter dem Rasterelektronenmikroskop (REM) ausgewertet. Zur Identifizierung der Faserarten wird die energiedispersive Röntgenmikroanalyse (EDXA) eingesetzt.

Bei den VDI-Messungen wird unterschieden in:

  • Istzustandsmessungen dienen der Prüfung, ob noch nicht sanierte asbesthaltige Materialien bei normaler Nutzung die Raumluft belasten.
  • Kontrollmessungen werden während oder unmittelbar nach der Entfernung von asbesthaltigen Materialien ausserhalb der Sanierungszonen ausgeführt, um zu prüfen, ob eine allfällige Kontamination der Umgebung stattgefunden hat.
  • Zonenfreimessungen dienen der Erfassung des Gehaltes an lungengängigen Asbestfasern in der Raumluft nach Sanierungsende. Sie werden innerhalb der Sanierungszonen ausgeführt, um zu prüfen, ob die Sanierungszonen abgebaut werden können.
  • Schlussmessungen kontrollieren die Raumluft nach Abschluss sämtlicher Sanierungsarbeiten, vor dem Wiederbezug der Räumlichkeiten.

Falls gewünscht/erforderlich können wir über 30 Messungen gleichzeitig durchführen.

 

Zudem bieten wir an:

  • Kontinuierliche Raumluftmessungen mit Fibre Monitor FM 7400
    Heikel sind Sanierungen vor allem dort, wo sich in der Nähe viele Menschen aufhalten. Asbestsanierungsobjekte werden mit einem Lasergerät überwacht, das lungengängige Fasern kontinuierlich misst und aufzeichnet. Die Carbotech besitzt dafür zwei Lasergeräte (Fibre Monitor FM 7400).
  • Arbeitsplatzmessungen während Asbestsanierungen
    Arbeitsplatzmessungen während Arbeiten an asbesthaltigen Materialien zeigen die Belastungen auf, denen die Sanierungsarbeiter ausgesetzt sind. Auf der Basis dieser Messungen können adäquate Schutzmassnahmen und verbesserte Sanierungstechnologien definiert werden.
  • Abluft-/Emissionsmessungen während Asbestsanierungen
    Diese Messungen nach der VDI-Richtlinie 3861 prüfen in den Abluftschläuchen von Unterdruckhaltegeräten, ob die kontaminierte Luft aus dem Sanierungsbereich ausreichend gefiltert wird bevor sie in die Aussenluft gelangt. So wird verhindert, dass z.B. aufgrund ungenügend gewarteter Geräte oder Leckagen die Umgebungsluft belastet wird.

Weiterführende Dienstleistung: Gebäudediagnostik und Fachplanung/Fachbauleitung Schadstoffsanierung